New Year’s resolutions 2016…how did I get on?

resolutions

So, here we are, the end of another year – where did the time go?

Back in January I blogged my list of New Year’s resolutions. Now, because I’m a bit of a nerd and to highlight the importance of evaluation, I wanted to report back on how I’ve done.

Planned resolution 1 – blog more

I’m off to a flyer here – not including guest posts for Net Natives and Comms2Point0 (and my record label) this post is my 46th of 2016. Back in January I was hoping to do a couple of month, so I think I can tick this one off!

I’ve found blogging to be such a helpful outlet for my thinking – it’s been a great way to start conversations, a digestible way to report back on conferences and events, and has led to some really cool speaking opportunities for me this year. I’ve also read some fantastic content on other people’s blogs too. If you’ve ever thought about blogging, definitely give it a go!

Status: Nailed it!

Planned resolution 2 – read more work related stuff

I’ve finally got over my previous awkwardness about reading stuff for work, at work. There is no shame in reading about things that are relevant to your job while you’re doing your job.

This year, I have read an awful lot. But I’ve not just read them. I’ve tried to learn things and apply them to what I do every day. I’ve also tried to share some insights with colleagues and with you lot too – hence my monthly roundups of good reads.

Don’t be afraid to get reading!

Status: Nailed it!

Planned resolution 3 – get comfortable with Snapchat and Yik Yak

When it comes to Snapchat, I’m definitely far more comfortable using it now than I was in January. Heck, I even spent the month of August posting a story every day – well, trying to – as a bit of an experiment. You can see how I got on here. I also ended the year teaching a session about Snapchat as part of the excellent 12 Apps of Christmas MOOC, so I guess I can tick that.

As for Yik Yak…well, I know how to use it, that’s for sure, but I don’t really need to any more. They’ve tinkered with their format so much this year that the herd on Warwick’s campus has essentially died out. Oh well.

Status : Nailed it!

Planned resolution 4 – Put on a great show at the CASE Europe Social Media and Community Conference

This definitely, definitely happened; this year’s conference was awesome, even if I do say so myself – you can catch up with what I took away from it right here.

Even better, 2017’s version is already looking incredibly tasty – book your place right now!

Status: Nailed it!

Planned resolution 5 – Learn how to make proper timelapses

This straight up did not happen – maybe next year.

Status: Nope!

Planned resolution 6 – Start a podcast about music

This has probably been the most satisfying thing I’ve done all year; back in January I started the show Dave’s World, a show deliberately set up to shine a light on the unsigned heavy music scene in the West Midlands and give those bands a platform.

Fast forward to right now and I’m about to put out my 50th episode – an end-of-year awards special and I have more than 100 subscribers. Over the year I’ve interviewed 36 bands, been to and reviewed 3 major festivals, played loads of great songs from talented local bands, made a tonne of friends and generally had a great time. I can’t recommend podcasting enough.

Back in the Spring I blogged some reflections on my first three months of podcasting, as well as a loveletter to my favourite show – That’s Not Metal. Feel free to go back and read those pieces.

Status: Nailed it!

Planned resolution 7 – Find a way to make LinkedIn work for me

The biggest surprise of 2016 for me – I don’t hate LinkedIn any more! I actually quite like it!

The big thing that made it work for me has undoubtedly been blogging on LinkedIn Pulse – it’s a terrific platform that they keep improving. I now use LinkedIn every day of the week, have made some solid connections and have learnt so much from content I’ve found there.

Status: Nailed it!

Planned resolution 8 – Make my new band as good as it can be

For a first year together, my band WAVE has done really well. We’ve played some brilliant gigs, put out our debut EP and already recorded the follow up. It’s the best band I’ve ever been in and people genuinely seem to like us. Also, we wrote an awesome new song at the weekend, so 2017 is going to be even better!

Status: Nailed it!

Planned resolution 9 – Dominate my inbox

This has been mixed bag; at times my inbox has been swish and clean (like right this very moment)…other times, less so. I’ve definitely got better at this, but there’s still room for improvement.

Status: a good attempt, but more work to do next year

That’s it for my resolutions in 2016 – how did you get on with yours? Let me know below!

**Don’t forget, I’d love you to follow me on Twitter and Instagram, and connect with me on LinkedIn too.

Leave a Reply

