12 crowd-sourced tips for getting the most out of LinkedIn

linkedin-tips-blog

I asked…and they delivered – here’s a dozen golden nuggets to help you the most out of LinkedIn, crowd sourced from some of my connections!

Last week I ran a ‘LinkedIn 101’ training session for colleagues at Warwick, as part of a campus-wide showcase day of various bits and pieces for our staff. A few hours before the session, I thought I would put the whole ideal of social media being a great place for sharing knowledge and being helpful, by posting the following question on LinkedIn…

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-16-18-22

By the time I came to the part of my session where I was talking about the newsfeed and posting updates, I had a load of suggestions that not only showed the value of asking your network questions on LinkedIn, but also proved to be a neat little selection of tips.

So neat, in fact, that I’ve turned them into a blog post – just in case you missed them first time around.

Don’t thank me, thank my responsive connections!

Log in ever day. It’s a simple tip but many people on the platform don’t do it!

– Richard Eccleston

A simple but effective tip – I’ve certainly got far more value from LinkedIn since getting into the habit of logging in every day.

Get your connections to share your posts and do some of the work for you.

– Beth Freeman

A great point – this is particularly useful for spreading the reach of any blog posts you might publish on LinkedIn. For example, I always tag any connections who write something that appears in my monthly ‘good reads’ round up, and they almost always share it with their own network, which gets more eyes on my article.

Contribute to the debate and write articles; articles achieve much more engagement than posts. If you struggle to find time, you could repurpose articles you have written for other channels or publications with a reference at the bottom. When you post an article, all of your contacts are notified. I would say this is a great way to build your profile on the platform but only a small percentage of users actually utilise this function!

– Mike Grey

I couldn’t agree more! The blogging/publishing function on LinkedIn is excellent – easy to use, easy to read and gets great reach. As I blogged last year, I get more people view my content on LinkedIn than on my blog.

Write articles on Pulse. Connect only with a personal message. Test your profile photo on Photofeeler. Participate with comments in your timeline and in groups.

– Steven den Boer

A smorgasbord of solid tips here that I would definitely endorse – especially about Photofeeler, which I’d never heard of before…proof that you do indeed learn something new every day!

Teach them how to hide updates to avoid unwanted “noise” and “this belongs on facebook” style rants

– Roger Sanford

This made me LOL and fist-pump in agreement at the same time. To being afraid to hover over the top right of an update that makes you groan, click the drop-down arrow that appears and take back some control is a life-saver!

Pooling the knowledge of your connections will allow you to cobble together a training package at the last possible moment…

Or, less flippantly, specific questions usually yield relevant, helpful answers from people trying their best to appear professional and knowledgeable.

– Gary Gillies

While this reply is soaked in Eau de Tongue in Cheek, I’d agree that asking questions is a great way to tap your connections’ knowledge. For example, they might give you enough content to write a blog post!

For the record, the training session I ran had been created long in advance – I only asked this question to help prove a point as part of it. Not that it matters – flippant or not, this was another comment that put a smile on my face.

Reciprocity: in other words, help people! Comment and be consistently positive both in the way you interact and in trying to add value to what others are doing.

– Andrew Brightwell

Yes! Absolutely! Lots of this on every social media platform and in day-to-day life in general please!

Make connections, the bedrock of getting the most out of using LinkedIn. Personal requests are a brilliant starting point.

– Jai Shah

Spot on. When I covered the bit in my training session about making a connection request, I stressed the value of adding a personal message. I even told those in attendance that I wouldn’t connect with them unless they added a personalised note – which has resulted in some excellent connection requests that really cheered my soul.

Get active: update, post, connect, message….

– Jonathan Pollinger

You should save this tip from Jonathan as your to-do list for every time you log onto LinkedIn.

There are way too many people on LinkedIn who think that signing on will do the job. Even though you are putting a specific LinkedIn training together, I would also provide some foundation about communication strategy. Subjects such as engagement, community building, and authenticity.

– Volker Janssen

Totally agree – but there’s only so much ground you can cover in 90 minutes 😉

A good summary on yourself goes a long way.

– Charlotte Hobbins

I’m so glad Charlotte mentioned this – the summary so often gets overlooked and left as an executive summary of your job description. This is a space to tell the world about yourself over the space of a few lines, so take advantage of it – make it personal, let it show who you are and have some fun with it. I’ve certainly tried to do that with my own summary, which looks so much better now than it did a year ago.

Also, the summary plays a role in your LinkedIn SEO, so it’s a great place to weave in some relevant keywords too. I see it as part of a ‘holy trinity’ when it comes to firing up your LinkedIn profile.

Engage with it consistently. Keep your messages / statuses updated, on-topic and interesting. Oh and it is not ‘Facebook’ – keep it personable but always professional

– Peter Bell

More good stuff to finish, particularly the point about how LinkedIn is very much not Facebook. I’m nowhere near as militant as some commenters I’ve seen, but I still have a very clear split in terms of what content I post on each channel. My Facebook friends don’t really care about what I have to say about social media, while my LinkedIn connections probably don’t want to know about my band or my weekly podcast and rock and metal music (or maybe you do and you’re just too shy to ask??). Anyway; know your platforms, know your audiences and know what’s right to post where.

That’s it for my crowd-sourced LinkedIn tips – what would you add? Let me know in the comments and help grow this list some more!

**Don’t forget, I’d love you to follow me on Twitter and Instagram, and connect with me on LinkedIn too.

Leave a Reply

